E-Marketing Lessons Learned

Be-Social-Already-Infographic

The picture on the left is an Infographic,one of the many skills I learnt this year from my E-marketing Course. It summarizes most of the theory I learnt about social media in this course.

When I started off this semester, I had a narrow idea of what e-marketing entailed. In my head it had to do mostly with social media.

If you told me to do a quick infographic to summarize large amounts of data into something catchy and easy to read, I would have no idea where to start. I therefore give credit to Dr Nicolla Pallit who provided the class with resources that taught us how to create blogs and infographics.

I had no idea that there was more to e-marketing like having digital marketing strategies, analyzing your marketing performance, viral marketing campaigns, infographics, blogs, video marketing, CRM, SEO, content planning and personal branding just to name a few.

The one aspect of learning that blew my mind away was our first e-activity that was based on personal branding. When I read the Branding article from Get Smarter it became very clear to me that I am really a brand and the way I carry myself will determine whom I will attract.

I analyzed my online presence and fortunate enough it was good but not so professional so from there onward,I made use of the strategies Steph Housley taught us in lectures such as privatizing your social network platforms, not posting inappropriate pictures, getting connected on other professional platforms such as LinkedIn and visiting sights and blogs that will help on my personal development as a digital marketer such as Bizcommunity Digital Marketing articles.

I also learnt the importance of analyzing your e-marketing strategies. For example, I am majoring in Entrepreneurship and as part of the course we had to come up with a product, start up and run a year-long business a business.

The product our team came up with is Foldable, Trendy, BPA FREE, Convenient drinking canteens known as SWIG canteens.SWIG Drinking Canteens.

One example of how we applied what we learned in BUS2074S is through posting and advertising our product on social media channels such as Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/swigcanteens

To analyze the channels performance on Facebook, we would use Facebook’s analytic tools where they tell you how many people our post reached or how the post was effective compared to past posts.We would also plan which content to put in advance and are planning on buying the page promotion package to promote our page.

One aspect that I feel I would like to learn further is the four e-frictions from the BCG Internet Economy article and how to use Google analytics.
Unfortunately for C6 DMS we had to focus on one friction and as a team we used Infrastructure but I am fascinated on learning the other three and how all these frictions intersect, namely:

• Industry Related Friction
• Individual Friction
• Info-Related Friction

Our team was fortunate to be in the top three to come up with the best strategy report for C6 and hope we get the internship prize.

I am almost at the end of the road with my e-marketing course and proud to say that I come out as a diamond graduate who has a lot of knowledge in terms of e-marketing strategies.

I know I will be a great asset to any future employer and my next entrepreneurial venture. I also thank our lecturer Steph Housley for exposing us to great speakers like Rian Cartens, Di Charton, and Nick Knuppe.

Leave a comment